About Sri Lanka Association of Australia Awards Alumni (SLAAAA)

Our Profile


Sri Lanka Association of Australia Awards Alumni (SLAAAA) serves as an umbrella alumni association for all Australia Awards awardees from Sri Lanka. The Australia Awards Scholarships has been an important component of the Australian Government’s official development assistance program to Sri Lanka since the Colombo Plan initiative in the 1950s.

The Australia Awards program promotes knowledge, education links and enduring ties between Australia, its neighbors and the global community. Since its inception, over 600 candidates from both the public and private sectors have studied in Australia under the program and are part of the SLAAAA.

The Association seeks to strengthen the bonds between the alumni both locally as well as internationally and to create opportunities for intellectual and cultural exchange between Sri Lanka and Australia. A platform provides members with opportunities for professional development whilst building networks to collectively contribute towards the development of Sri Lanka.

Registered under the Companies Act No. 7 of 2007 / Regd No. GA 3023


Seated from Left to Right

Ms. Velayudan Jayachitra (Treasurer); Mr. Sivaguru Thanigaseelan (Vice President); Mrs. Suhajinee Gunawardana (Secretary); Dr. Pradeepa Jayaratne (President); Mr. Rifa Wadood (Vice President); Mr. Sameera Wickramasinghe (Assistant Secretary); Mr. M.M. Theseem (Assistant Treasurer)


Standing from Left to Right

Mr.Aruna Devendra  (Committee Member); Ms. Kalyani Abeysekara (Committee Member); Dr. Anuji Gamage (Committee Member); Dr. Randika Jayasinghe (Committee Member); Ms. Kumuduni Wickramasingha (Coordinating Secretary); Ms. Janaki Amaratunge (Committee Members); Mr.  M Nuwan Wiranga (Committee Member)


Not in the Picture: Dr. Sunil De Alwis (Committee Member)

Previous Committee 2017/2018